Thoughts on St John Wort/ Serotonin levels/ 5-HT ?

Ragmaala

3 hours ago, Gunahgar said:

Does anyone have any experience using St Johns Wort. Did it help ?

St Johns wort has a reputation for it's side effects and interactions with other chemicals. I reckon it's better to use 5HTP or tryptophan because you get the inceased serotonin levels AND tryptophan especially, can help with spiritual dhyan and concentration. I've taken both of these on and off in different stamina building regimes with diet, but they should also work if depressed due to serotonin levels being on the 'low' side.

4 hours ago, Gunahgar said:

Does anyone have any experience using St Johns Wort. Did it help ?

No, I've no experience with St Johns Wort but do know the most potent techniques to relax the Nervous tension (which helps in depression). Personally, I've used the first two in my family and perfect results:

1. While the patient is lying on the back, bend all the toes of both legs, backward. Keep those bend for at-least 1-2 minutes. It may hurt but give little more pressure and bend them as much as possible. Repeat this three times a day till the tension is removed.

2. Take Magnesium Citrate (and not magnesium sulphate or any other magnesium xxx). Opt for 100% pure powder and not any other derevative  http://www.amazon.ca/Now-Foods-Magnesium-Citrate-Powder/dp/B004189JCW/

Also, homeopathic bio-chemic salt combination number 16 (a.k.a BC salt # 16) is very effective in treating depression.

1 hour ago, paapiman said:

Bro, who/what is St Johns Wort?

Bhul chuk maaf

younger paaji, ...St john wort is a herbal medicine, but it is also one that has many chemical side-effects and interactions. I remember that back in the UK, (where I am from!), it became famous in mainstream public because it brought to attention to everyone that herbal=natural-->>does not always mean it's safe.  Herbal medicines can still have the same toxic qualities as conventional meds.