castes?....i dont understand

Sat Naam Wahe Guru

hello im a newbie to this site, i think itz cool what your doing here...

now to my question, sorry if this has been answered before, but

how comz in sikhism there are castes like JATT, Tarkhan, Chamar, etc...

if i am wrong some1 please correct me and could someone please explain

thank you

There is no castes in sikhism.. there is caste system in punjabi culture..that is that...sikhism and punjabi culture are competely different concepts....sikhism is off coz much more priceless than idotic punjabi culture which has nothing else to offer except - drinking, caste system, gender bias and arrange marriages.

here is what guru granth sahib ji has to say about caste system

"Let no man be proud because of his caste.

For the man who has God in his heart, he alone is the true Brahmin.

O stupid fool, be not proud of your caste, by this pride many sins arise.

Everyone says there are four castes, but they are all created from the Lords seed (essence).

All men are moulded from the same clay, but the potter has fashioned it into vessels of numerous forms.

By joining the five elements, the form of the body is made, no one can say that the element is less in one and more in another" Ang 1128 SGGS

Guest kaur1699

Fateh Ji,

Hello and welcome to the site typer :)

The caste system has been discussed afew times and here are the links to them posts...

http://www.sikhawareness.com/sikhawareness...highlight=caste

If you still have some questions feel free to ask...

thank you also kaur1699 ji, u kno whats surprising to me;

although many of our elders know alot more about our religion they follow it less.. and the newer generation is willing to follow the peace and equality shown in sikhi, i have many mates from other religions and all of us respect each others religions, but too bad some people in the world including some elders do not wish the people living in the world to been seen equally.