Is It Acceptable Or Am I Being Crap?

Recently I downloaded the nitnem banis from youtube and turned them into mp3s. I'm just getting into it but I sometimes listen to nitnem prayers (through headphones) whilst doing other stuff. For example, listening to Rehras whilst washing punday, or cooking (a hobby) at sunset for example.

Is this acceptable of just plain being slack? Should one only focus on the prayers and nothing else?

Edited by dalsingh101

if you're actively listening or reciting with the recording, then i think it's ok. but if you dont even remember what paath u did, waht bani you're on, or having done paath at all, then its definitely not good

i often listen to nitnem recordings in the morning whil i'm getting ready for school, but i a make it a point to recite out loud with it

in the budda dal rehit maryada as published in the khalsa sundar gutka, and i believe in other rehit maryadas as well, about nitnem it says "parhe yaa sunhe". so yeah, just make sure you're actually sunh-ing it

What matters is quality of attention. To illustrate with an analogy, when speaking to a woman you are trying to chat up or impress, if you talk half to her and stare half into space ignoring her she will not be flattered. To flatter her you must give her full attention. To give full attention to another person and hang on their every word makes the other person feel good and valued. If reading Gurbani with half attention you are not courting with Gurbani correctly and are insulting Gurbani. Its like someone giving you a gift and you turn your head to the side paying little attention to the giver and just mumble 'thanks'. Its like my old science teacher used to say 'people think knowledge is going to get into their head by osmosis' If you are going to cook then cook focus on one thing, don;t be a prostitute and divide your surti among different things of the world.