Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Every God in Hindu mythology is believed to have different forms
or incarnations or avatars. Every avatar symbolises something unique. The elephant-headed God, has displayed himself in 32
forms of Ganesha
, each form having special powers and characteristic features. Two shaktis of Ganesha, Siddhi and Riddhi, are often depicted on images of the mighty God’s forms.

The 32 forms of Lord Ganesha are as

1. Bala Ganapati

2. Taruna Ganapati

3. Bhakthi Ganapati

4. Vira Ganapati

5. Shakti Ganapati

6. Dwija Ganapati

7. Siddhi Ganapati

8 . Ucchhishta Ganapati

9. Vighna Ganapati

10. Kshipra Ganapati

11. Heramba Ganapati

12. Lakshmi Ganapati

13. Maha Ganapati

14. Vijaya Ganapati

15. Nritya Ganapati

16. Urdhva Ganapati

17. Ekakshara Ganapati

18. Varada Ganapati

19. Tryakshara Ganapati

20. Kshipra Prasada Ganapati

21. Haridra Ganapati

22. Ekadanat Ganapti

23. Sristhi Ganapati

24. Uddanda Ganapati

25. Rinamochana Ganapati

26. Dhundhi Ganapati

27. Dwimukha Ganapati

28. Trimukha Ganapati

29. Sinha Ganapati

30. Yoga Ganapati

31. Durga Ganapati

32. Sankatahara Ganapati

In the Every avatar is depicted as a red, golden, blue or white image. The names of these 32 forms of Ganesha suggest what each of them symbolises. For example, ‘Bala’ means child-like,‘Bhakti’ means devotion and ‘Nritya’ means dance and ‘Lakshmi Ganapati’ is the Giver of Success. While some say Ganesha was an unmarried bachelor, others say that he was married to Siddhi (spiritual power) and Buddhi or
Riddhi (intellectual power). But Lakshmi Ganapati has two consorts –Saraswati, goddess of culture and arts and Lakshmi, goddess of luck and prosperity. Vighna Ganapati is the Lord of Obstacles.
Destruction of obstacles for those who are on their way to glory is one of Ganesha’s important tasks. On the other hand, Bhakti Ganapati is calm. Hence, each name of Ganapati has a specific quality attached to it. From these 32 forms of Ganesha, we can observe that Ganesha switched from one form to another to show his greatness.

From being a valiant warrior (Veera Ganapati) to fulfilling his duties as a protector of the weak (Heramba Ganapati) to enforcing Dharma (Uddanda Ganapati), Lord Ganesha has many magical incarnations.Ganesha’s might is displayed through these 32 forms.
Even though he was blessed with so many powers and incarnations, he did not misuse them. Instead, he always put them to good use.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...