Sikhism & Suicide?

amateur92

WJKK WJKF!

The topic might throw some people off so let me start off by saying I DO NOT WANT TO COMMIT SUICIDE. I am a very happy undergrad student looking to graduate next year :)

However, I know someone who wants to die for 'waheguru'.

A family friend of ours has a son who is 15 years old. He completed grade 9 this past June. He loves learning about Sikhism. He has no hobbies, no favourite tv shows, no music preferences, doesn't know who king kong is, no favourite movie and so on. He only listens to the very upbeat AKJ style kirtan, only reads books. He is not on any social media and does NOTHING besides the two things. He won't let his family turn on the TV or listen to music in the car. He loves to eat and will eat anything vegetarian. He argues about bibekta but grows weak in-front of Subway. He is not amrtidhari.

His family consists of his mom& dad, sister, all of who are non-amritdhari but grow out their hair. They encourage him to play outside, develop hobbies, go to the gym, do ANYTHING besides strictly learn about Sikhism. He hates that, he hates them. He does love to eat so the doctor has diagnosed him with high cholesterol but he refuses to work out or go for walks. He is only fifteen. They fear that he is absorbing too much information for his 15 year old mind. I think he is, anyway.

He wants to be amritdhari when he can wash his hair everyday and do paath at 2am everyday. His parents are more lenient Sikhs. They tell him he does not need to wash his hair everyday or wake up at 2am to do paath. They say he can tie a patiala shahi pagg and still be loved by the Guru because he ties a really big, messy dumalla. He thinks sikh girls are going to hell for wearing anything more revealing than tshirts and jeans. He has even said I'm a bad person because I have my ears pierced and my eyebrows done (I am not amritdhari).