Advice for expanding Sikh knowledge:

PhunkeyPhish

Hi everyone, 

I am relatively new to Sikhi faith and have been studying/practicing off and on for the past few years now. Prior to Sikhi I practiced Buddhism for the better part of 15 years and before that was raised Christian and "dabbled" in Judaism before being introduced to Indian philosophy and religion. Lately I have been learning more about Hinduism, specifically Advaita Vedanta. At the moment I kind of consider myself to be a Vedanta-Nanakpanthi. I see a lot of overlap between Advaita Vedanta and Sikhi and for me Vedanta helps me with the philosophical and knowledge while Sikhi helps me more with the devotional side of my spirituality.

My question for the forum is recommendations to further my study and practice of Sikhi. I have read several books on the life and teachings of Guru Nanak, along with books summarizing all the Gurus and history of the Sikhs, as well. I have also read some of the Guru Granth Sahib. In addition to these readings, I read the Bhagavad Gita and Upanishads as part of my spiritual practice, as well. Any recommendations for other Sikh readings, or other suggestions to further my knowledge and experience of Sikhi? 

Thanks everyone, 

Om shanti shanti shanti. 

Waheguru ji ka khalsa, Waheguru ji ki fateh. 

Sat Sri Akal

Great to know you have found Sikhi after going on various spiritual, philosophical quests, I too learnt some vedanta, upanishads, Bhagvad Gita and arrived back to my own roots.

So my personal advice is learn from the Guru Granth Sahib as the primary source, there are many youtube videos that give a more deeper explanations than many translations. Also previously I could not read Punjabi so I fixed that and learnt it, it helps a lot and isn't as hard if one is trying to read Guru Granth Sahib and transliteration is given below.

Some youtube videos/playlists in english I will suggest, there is always Basics of Sikhi(for Sakhis, some history)