Punjabi Literature : Descriptive Writing Challenge

Sat Sri Akaal everyone

So I am completely new to Sikhawareness ( page) and only became aware of it due to Dalsingh’s postings, specifically because for years he has been putting links up to my works for years which I only really discovered fairly recently. Then I decided to try and respond to him and naturally I was asked to sign up, so I have.

I am a British born Sikh, whose real name is Rupinderpal Singh Dhillon, and at school Ioved reading fiction, to the point I did an English Literature GCSE and then A level.

I am of the generation that always wondered why there aren’t any positive Sikh Characters in English Literature so I embarked on a journey which started at the V&A exhibition of the 300th anniversary of the Sikh Khalsa and ended up being this unpaar in Punjabi ( meaning no punjabi lessons were ever taken) learnt the Painti Alphabet and then thought now what…and promptly attempted to write in Punjabi to mainly counteract the kind of fiction our parents generation wrote.

Why? Because in it all British born punjabis ( Sikh or otherwise) were portrayed in a negative light and by those who don’t know what it is like growing up with both cultures.

So 20 years later, here I am, an amateur Punjabi Fiction Writer.

So Why am I posting this?

Dalsingh has given me the impression there may well be others out there like me who have been raised here, can read Punjabi, but not relate to the Punjabi of Punjabi Fiction or those locals and experiences and need Literature to read that either reflects their lives and thoughts or touches on fields that traditional Punjabi Literature doesn’t. Such as Science fiction, Spy stories, etc etc.. I can do a post about that later.