Serving and Meditating upon the True Guru

Sat Sri Akal,

Sri Guru Granth Sahib talks a lot about meditating on the True Guru and serving the True Guru. What does this mean? What exactly are we supposed to meditate upon? How can we serve the Guru when he is not in human form?

"The chosen ones meditate single-mindedly on the Guru." [sGGS page 3]

"I serve my True Guru with single-minded devotion, and lovingly focus my consciousness on Him." [sGGS page 26]

"Meditate on the image of the Guru within your mind" [sGGS page 21]

Please forgive my ignorance - I am new to Sikhi and eager to learn as much as I can about the faith.

Thank you in advance for your guidance!

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa Waheguru ji ki Fateh!

Nischala

You Serve the Guru in 3 Ways, ith the Mind, Body, and your Earnings or wealth.

Mind meaning, Simran, Dhyaan, Devotion, Love, Surrender.

Body meaning doing physical labor, such as making Langar, doing chores and so forth.

The third seva of Wealth which was clarified by the 10th Nanak dev known as Daswund. 10th of your earning should be given as Seva. Note that does not mean only giving to a Gurudwara, it means seva, help those who are in need. It is known that Guru Nanaks Dev jis Gholak is in the bowl of the Poor...not necessarily in the Gholak of the Gurudwara.

So in all there are 3 ways of doing Seva for the Guru,

Tun(body)

Mun(mind)

Dhun(wealth)

Now about meditating on the Guru. The True Guru is no other than Waheguru himself. You meditating on Guru Nanak dev ji is no different than meditating on God. For Guru Nanak dev ji is the Sargun roop of the Nargun Divinity. "Sargun vee O-hee, Nirgun vee O-hee" Meditate on God/True Guru.

The Guru is the one who points in the direction of the Beloved. Don't grab ahold of the Arrow, but look towards the direction to which the arrow is pointing.

Hope that gives you something to work with....

Waheguru.