Jump to content

5 Moral Evils & 8 Virtues

Guest kaur1699

Recommended Posts

Guest kaur1699

5 Moral Evils

Lust (Kaam) :

lust and illegitimate sex. It is one of the greatest evils that tempts people away from God. It makes an individual weak-willed and unreliable. Normal sexual relationhip as a house-holder is not restricted in any way in Sikhism. But sex outside marriage or sex against the will of the partner is taboo, as it can cause unlimited sorrows.

Anger (Krodh) :

anger needs to be controlled. A person overcome by 'krodh' loses his balance of mind and becomes incapable of thinking. According to Sikhism, 'krodh' takes a person away from God as hatred has no place in religious practise.

Greed (Lobh) :

greed is a strong desire to possess what rightfully belongs to others. It makes an individual selfish and self-centred. It takes a person away from his religious and social duties. A person can become blind with greed if an effort to control the desire for unlimited possessions is not made.

Attachment (Moh) :

the strong attachment that an individual has to worldly possessions and relationships. It blurs the perspective of a human being and makes him narrow minded. It deviates a person from his moral duties and responsibilities and leads him towards a path of sin.

False Pride (Ahankar) : means false pride due to one's possessions, material wealth, intelligence or powers. It gives an individual a feeling that he is superior to others and therefore they are at a lower level than him. It leads to jealousy, feelings of enmity and restlessness amongst people. Sikhism requires that a person serves the society and community with humility. Hence, the practise of cleaning the footwear of visitors to a Gurudwara is followed by many devout Sikhs.

8 Virtues To Combat The 5 Evils

Wisdom (Gyan) :

is the complete knowledge of a set of religious principles. It can be achieved by hearing good, thinking good and doing good. A man of wisdom tries to achieve a high moral standard in his life and interaction with others. According to Sikhism, the first steps to wisdom is to consider oneself as an ignorant person who has to learn a lot in life.

Truthful Living (Sat) :

This is more than 'truth'. It means living according to the way of God i.e. the thoughts should match the words that a person speaks and his actions should also match his words. Truthful living brings a person closer to God.

Justice (Niaon) :

means freedom and equal oppurtunities for all. Respect for the rights of others and strict absence of attempts to exploit a fellowbeing. Sikhism forbids the desire to loot anothers property. It also strictly instructs the Sikhs to show respect even for the women and children of an enemy.

Temperance (Santokh) :

means self control which has to be developed through meditation and prayers. A Sikh has to banish evil thoughts from his mind by constantly repeating Gods name and reciting prayers. Torture to the body to develop self-control is not advocated in Sikhism.

Patience (Dhiraj) :

implies a high level of tolerance and empathy for others. It requires control over ones ego and willingness to overlook anothers weakness or mistakes. It requires that a Sikh should be strongwilled, but kind hearted.

Courage (Himmat) :

means bravery i.e. absence of fear. It is the ability to stake ones life for ones convictions and for saving others from injustice or cruelty.

Humility (Namarta) :

is a deliberate denial of pleasure at one's own praise and admiration. It means underplaying ones own strengths and respecting the abilities of others. It is the antidote to 'ahankar'

Contentment (Sabar) :

means refraining from worldly fears and submitting oneself to the will of God. The typical worldly fears can be fear of death, poverty, disrespect and defeat. It is this virtue that has given the Sikhs the moral strength to withstand the various atrocities committed on their community in the last three centuries

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest kaur1699

yea, there may be 5 evils, but we are blessed with 8 ways to combat them...

hmm, technically shud be easier to combat em (for each evil we hav 1.6 virtues!)


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 5 months later...

kam is not lust :evil:

The meaning of Kaam is desire or wish.But Kaam also has secondary meaning of lust, sexual desire.

Main meaning is desire/wish; secondary meaning is lust/love.You have to understand context in which the word Kaam is written.

Prime meaning is desire

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Main meaning is desire/wish; secondary meaning is lust/love.You have to understand context in which the word Kaam is written.

The context that it is written in is what counts (not some definition from a sanskrit dictionary). The context from SGGS is lust.

There is no logic in it meaning desire:

Many times we read the desire for Guru, Naam, dust of saints...so using the above logic, this desire is kam too, hence a sin!

Link to comment
Share on other sites



Attachment (Moh) :

the strong attachment that an individual has to worldly possessions and relationships


:cry: Kaur1699 ji i agree this all but one point how we leave MOH (attachment)? it is not easy to leave Moh with the persons near to u? Like Mother, Father , Sisters and Brothers. Even we all r ready to die for them. Not even any gurbani can control my moh (means i don't know any) may be i am Worng. But i can control every thing but not Moh if u ppl have some medican for this plz tell me. :(

i am new to this site if i wrote anything wrong plz forgive me.

Honey :(

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...

BBC website


Lust has been wrongly branded a vice and should be "reclaimed for humanity" as a life-affirming virtue, according to a top philsopher.

Professor Simon Blackburn of Cambridge University is trying to "rescue" lust, arguing it has been wrongly condemned for centuries, the Sunday Times says.

His campaign is part of an Oxford University Press project on the modern relevance of the seven deadly sins.

The list of sins was drawn up by Pope Gregory the Great in the 6th Century.

OUP has commissioned books on each of the sins - lust, anger, envy, gluttony, sloth, pride and greed.

Controlling lust

It says Prof Blackburn is aiming to save lust "from the denunciations of old men of the deserts, to deliver it from the pallid and envious confessor and the stocks and pillories of the Puritans, to drag it from the category of sin to that of virtue".

According to the Sunday Times, Prof Blackburn has defined lust as "the enthusiastic desire for sexual activity and its pleasures for its own sake".

The philosopher says that if reciprocated, lust leads to pleasure and "best flourishes when unencumbered by bad philosophy and ideology... which prevent its freedom of flow".

He points out that thirst is not criticised although it can lead to drunkenness and in the same way lust should not be condemned just because it can get out of hand, the paper says.

Professor Blackburn is quoted as saying: "The important thing is that generally anything that gives pleasure has a presumption in its favour.

"The question is how we control it."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...