Jump to content

Sgpc Polls: Sitting Sc, Women Members In A Dilemma

Recommended Posts

SGPC Polls: Sitting SC, women members in a dilemma

Perneet Singh/TNS

Amritsar, August 3

With double-membership seats being rotated for the first time in the SGPC elections, the sitting women and SC members will have to either opt for a new constituency or stay out of the electoral arena.

If they decide to contest from a new constituency, they would face have to compete with local contenders with substantial support.

Kiranjot Kaur, the first woman general secretary of the SGPC in 2000, was elected to the SGPC House from Amritsar (Central), is now eyeing the Amritsar (West) seat which has been reserved for women.

SGPC member Sukhwinder Singh Jhabal, who was elected from Jhabal Kalan (SC) in Tarn Taran in 2004, is in a fix as none of the adjoining seats have been reserved for SC candidates. “The only option now is Khadoor Sahib, but that too falls in an altogether different pocket,” he lamented, describing the rotation system as “faulty”.

SAD secretary Daljeet Singh Cheema said: “We don’t havedearth of candidates. We are holding meetings daily and discussing new aspirants.” He said there were “competent” members open to shifting to a new seat who would be accommodated accordingly. The nominations for elections to the SGPC begin tomorrow.

Notice to State on Sehajdharis’ plea

Acting on an application seeking a stay on the SGPC elections, the Punjab and Haryana High Court today made it clear that the result would be subject to the outcome of the petition.

The Full Bench of Justice MM Kumar, Justice Alok Singh and Justice Gurdev Singh issued notices to the State of Punjab and other respondents for August 16, without staying the election process.The petition has been filed by the president of the Sehajdhari Sikh Federation, Dr Paramjeet Singh Ranu. — TNS

Constituencies reserved for SC men: Ambala, Malout, Ferozepur, Moga, Bhagta, Mansa, Longowal, Chananwala, Dakala, Bassi Pathana, Doraha, Mullanpur Dakha, Balachaur, Shahkot, Khadur Sahib, Verka, Jandiala, Batala, Sham Chaurasi, Anandpur Sahib

Reserved for SC women: Baluana, Dhuri, Jagraon, Patti and Dera Baba Nanak

For women(general category): Yamunanagar, Hisar, Gidderbaha, Abohar, Talwandi Bhai, Badhani Kalan, Ghal Kalan, Faridkot, Rampur Phul, Budhlada, Sunam, Dirba, Nabha, Sanaur, Ludhiana city (west), Samrala, Adampur, Kartarpur, Phagwara, Amritsar city (west), Chogawan, Guru Ka Bagh, Dhariwal, Garhshankar, and Mohali.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...