Jump to content

Introduction to 7 major chakras:::::


Recommended Posts


Chakras are non-physical organs that transform raw energy into more useable forms of energy. Chakras do not contain energy themselves. The raw energy is drawn in from the earth, through the minor chakras in the feet and legs. The raw energy, called Kundalini is the pure thought energy that binds the universe together. This living energy can be tapped more deeply through meditation and focused will.

There are seven major chakras, which will be outlined, and over 300 minor chakras. These can be compared with the meridians used in acupuncture.

The chakras need to be kept in balance in order to maintain a balanced life. If you are experiencing excess or lack in your life, it may be caused by unbalanced chakras. You can balance your chakras through meditation and use, which will also be explained.

I'll begin with a brief description of each of the 7 major chakras:

The first chakra is the Muladhara chakra. It is located at the base of the spine, and is identified with the color red, and the element earth. It is related to our physical identity, survival instincts, and our connection to the physical plane. This chakra brings health, prosperity, and security.

The second chakra is the Svadhsthana or "self" chakra. It is located in the womb, or the spleen, or abdomen, and it is identified with the color orange, and the element water. It is related to our emotional identity, and sexualtiy. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. It brings us fluidity, grace, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change. It is also associated with fear and anger. (An interesting note: Celibacy was used to encourage this energy upward, in the hopes that it would

increase higher consciousness)

The third chakra is the Manipura or "place of gems" chakra. This chakra is located at the solar plexus, or the navel, and is identified with the color yellow, and the element fire. It is related to our self definition, and ego identity. It is called the power chakra, and it rules our personal power, our will, and autonomy. It is also associated with metabolism and intellect. It brings us energy, effectiveness,

and spontaneity.

The fourth chakra is the Anahata or "unstruck note" chakra. It is located at the heart, and is identified with the color green, and the element of air. It is related to self acceptance, love, and our vital force. It is the integrator of opposites, such as mind and body, male and female. It is also associated with possession and jealousy. This chakra allows us to love deeply, to feel compassion, peace, and centeredness.

The fifth chakra is the Vishuddha chakra. It is located at the throat, and is identified with the color blue, and the element of sound or space. This chakra is related to self _expression, and our creative identity. It is also associated with communication, vibration (as in sound), mental concepts, authority, and reverence.

The sixth chakra is the Ajna or "command" chakra. It is located on the brow, between the eyes, the location of the "3rd eye", and is identified with the color indigo, and the element light. It is related to self reflection, and seeing, both physically and intuitively. It is associated with intuition, sensitivity, and envy or admiration. It is also related to our archetypal identity, and psychic ability. So, by stimulating this chakra, you may begin experiencing some psychic power you didn't realize you had.

The seventh, and final chakra is the Sahasrara or "thousand petaled lotus" chakra. It is located at the crown of the head, or just above the head, and is identified with the color violet, and the element thought. It is associated with self knowledge, awareness, and our connection to the world and the universe. It is related to imagination, wonder, and shame. It brings knowledge, wisdom, and understanding,

spiritual connection, and bliss.

"Chakra Excercises"

The first exercise to try, when working with the chakras, is raising your energy. This can be done through meditation and yoga practices. One exercise to begin with is to focus on your feet, mentally visualizing yourself pulling energy in from the earth, into you feet, through your legs, and into the base chakra, the red chakra. It is helpful to draw the energy in on the inhale, and hold it in on the exhale. Do this for at least a few minutes, and don't worry if you don't feel anything right away. As you begin to develop your chakras, you will start to feel the energy as you draw it in, but it may take some time, so be patient!

Next, you want to open your chakras. This is done by focusing your mind, and stimulating the chakras mentally. The first chakra is your base chakra, and it needs to be opened to draw the energy into the other chakras. It is very important that you spend plenty of time opening the first chakra, or you won't be able to draw enough energy into the other chakras, so take your time! Open the base chakra by raising energy up to the base chakra, and then visualize the chakra opening. You can do this in any way that is comfortable for you. I read one exercise that says to try visualizing opening the chakras like tearing open a loaf of bread. Personally, I don't like the idea of tearing them open, so I visualize it more as an opening flower, pulling apart the petals, to expose the pollen inside. Whatever you feel comfortable with is fine, just be guided by what feels intuitively right, rather than following a particular book, or teacher...even me!

Next, after you've opened the chakra, you draw the energy into it, and then you repeat the exercise several times, beginning with raising the energy from the earth, through the feet, and the legs, opening the base chakra, and drawing the energy into the chakra. Again, make sure you spend plenty of time on this chakra.

When you feel comfortable, repeat the process, but after you open the base chakra, draw the energy through it, and into the second chakra. Again, repeat this several times before moving on to the third chakra, and on up.

Remember during all of this to keep your body relaxed.

It is also very important to close the chakras when you're finished. You do this the same way you open them, only in reverse. It is necessary, or you will bleed energy. Close the chakras until you no longer feel the energy. (This will be hard at first, as you may not feel anything at all!) If you have trouble removing the energy, eating and physical exercise will help to close the chakras.

It is important to keep your chakras balanced. You can do this by stimulating chakras that seem to be weak. You know they are weak by what is happening in your life, and which chakra is relevant to the particular feelings and happenings in your life. To strengthen, or stimulate your chakras, open them, and project love and light into the chakra.

Remember patience, and balance!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...