Overcoming Exclusionary Practices and Obstacle in the Sikhi

pls discuss.. this is a serious problem we are facing...

Overcoming Exclusionary Practices and Obstacle in the Sikh Religion

Yogi Kaur

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First, I want to state clearly, my family and I are thankful to be Amritdhari Sikhs. We have no problems with Sikhism, except for the exclusionary behavior that has been witnessed worldwide. So, as you read, please don't think, we dislike Sikhism --- because that is far from the truth.

I was a Bahai, who grew up in the Christian religion. My husband was a Bahai when we met. There is much racial, cultural, and ethnic diversity in the Bahai Faith, which was founded by Persians from Iran. When I started studying Sikhism, I researched to find out if the Bab had met any of the Sikh Gurus or their followers, but they were centuries apart. You see Sikhism and Bahaism are quite similar.

Being introduced to a non-Persian and Persian Bahai is easier than being introduced to a Sikh. I just find it odd that Sikhism was out there all along. A hello, or accessible information lying around, would have ended more than 2 decades of searching, with me becoming a Sikh in the 1980s. I worshipped at the Hindu temples, Buddhist temples, Sathya Sia Baba Center, Suma Ching Hai Center, God Realization Center, and non-denominational Christian and Unity churches.

During the 1980s, I remember weekly going to the alternative bookstores looking at their places of worship boards in hopes of ending my search. At many of the bookstores I visited (regarding other religions), I was either approached by an individual, saw information on the boards, saw a booklet or pamphlet lying around, and/or just saw information on bookshelves.