Singhnis and Hazoor Sahib

WJKK WJKF

I am a student of Sikh history and I am wondering of anyone could help me. My interest is the role of Singhnis during the period 1708-1839. I have read a lot of informative posts here so I am hoping that members like Amrit Singh who have personal experience of visiting Hazoor Sahib could help me with one facet of my research.

I was told many years ago that after Guru Gobind Singh 's joti jot samah that many of the Singhs stayed back in Hazoor Sahib and some basic buildings were built there. According to my father after some years the Singhs gradually drifted back to Panjab or other cities in South India. The local Muslims of Nander who had a dispute with the Singhs because the site had been reputed to have be a Muslim graveyard. Sensing that the Singhs would not be many the local Muslims attacked the shrine and either took over or were beaten back and bided their time to get more recuits. Sikhs in other parts of India were notified but they were busy fighting the Mughals. A jatha of Singhnis either from Panjab or areas around Hazoor Sahib formed themselves and when the Muslims attacked defeated them as well as capturing the Muslims' flag. I have been told that this flag is currently housed in one of shrines at Hazoor Sahib.

Do any of the members have any further information on this incident. Please reply here or email me at

singhni4eva@hotmail.com

Thanks

Dear Bhain Ji,

Please wait for detailed reply, because I am not having good health presently.

Here is a little information: -

When Divan Chandu Lal started the 'Kar Seva' in Sri Hazoor Sahib Ji, 'Sri Manji Sahib' was existed and 'Pujari Ji' (Jathedar Sahib) used to do the seva of Sri Takht Sahib. When Maharaja Ranjit Singh heard about this 'Seva', he sent Sardar Chanda Singh Ji with lots of money for the 'Kar Seva' of Sri Hazoor Sahib Ji. The present building of Sri Hazoor Sahib Ji was constructed under the supervision of Sardar Chanda Singh Ji.