new member question about Ek Onkar!!!!

greetings,

I am new to Sikh dharma and have many questions but would like to start with just one question and then humbly hope someone can help me with the answer.

I am curious about how to officially spell in the english script "ek onkar" and "waheguru"

I see these 2 words spelled so many ways like vahiguru, waheguru, wahe-guru, ikonkar, ekomkar, ek oankar etc. what is the official way to spell these in english?

thank you !

matijyoti

Welcome to the Forum Ji, I hope you enjoy your stay.

Correct way of Waheguru is not Waheguru but Vaheguroo. There is no "W" in Gurmukhi. Its a "V" sound. English spelling should be Vaheguroo.

According to Damdami taksal(popular school of thought and an order) correct way to spell- Ik oankar is Ikon(g)kar. However, it varies from sampardha's to sampardha's (orders/lineages) in Sikhism- all three spelling- ikonkar, ekomkar, ek oankar are acceptable in samparda's.

Please read the katha english translations of sri japji sahib, where all mool mantar is discussed very deeply.:

http://www.sikhawareness.com/sikhawareness...opic.php?t=7695

Guest SAdmin

Welcome to Sikh Dharma which belongs to whole humankind... i hope you are enjoying this new experience in life and wish you best of luck in your spiritual journey. Now for your question I would suggest that you consult with atleast 20 well known Sikh lecturer. You will get answers on this discussion but please do your own due diligence as well.

Please read this response at http://www.sikhnet.com/Sikhnet/discussion....D1!OpenDocument