Meditations On Meditation

I've been meditating daily for a few years now (yes there are the odd days when I can't because I have to rush out somewhere).

But I can say it is a part of my life now. It's not a fad or a phase. I need it.

Now when I started I had a few 'sensational' experiences, but as people told me at the time - these are common early on. I don't seek them now. They don't occur now.

What I'm trying to get at is that right now, it's like 20 minutes of letting my brain go 'freefall' - if you know what I mean.

I'd be happy to do just that for the rest of my life for the relaxing feeling it gives. It cleanses.

But I have to ask, should I be going somewhere else with this? Have I stalled? Am I just coasting?

It's like getting caught up in, and then letting go of - thought waves.

You what I've found is that even analysing it. Or trying to conceptualise it is counterproductive.

It's like the whole point is breaking out of a box, but then we go on and 'box' the experience in cognitive terms and language.

Seems self defeating?

Edited by dalsingh101

You what I've found is that even analysing it. Or trying to conceptualise it is counterproductive.

It's like the whole point is breaking out of a box, but then we go on and 'box' the experience in cognitive terms and language.

Seems self defeating?

As long as there is an experience behind the words, it's ok to use words and to conceptualize/analyze it.

If one has a strawberry in their mouth and they can taste it. It's ok for them to describe the taste. In fact, when trying to describe it, they'll see inside how well they are able to describe the taste. They'll be able to check where they are aware and where they need to become more aware.

But if there is no strawberry and there has never been a strawberry. Then its counter-productive to describe it or analyze it because there is no actual knowledge, no actual experience that is being analyzed, it is an exercise in futility.