Jump to content

Mars starts using animal products


shaheediyan
 Share

Recommended Posts

For vegetarians who enjoy chocolate bars....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm

Mars starts using animal products

Masterfoods' brands are household names

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.

The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible".

'Extremely disappointed'

Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.

Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step

Vegetarian Society

Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.

"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

Naheeeeeeeen!!

Didn't Mars have egg in it anyway? So any veggies who check ingredients wouldn't have eaten it anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Author: Charan Dhoor

Date: 05-15-07 04:50

Products which contain whey Derived from Animal Rennet

Bounty Dark/Milk

Celebrations

Flyte

Galaxy Ripple

Galaxy Minstrels

Galaxy Block/ Caramel/ Fruit and Hazelnut/ Hazelnut

Galaxy Promises Cocoa Crisp/Caramel Crunch/ Roast Hazelnut/ Rich Coffee

Maltesers Original/White

Mars original

Mars Delight

Mars Planets

Milky Way/ Crispy Rolls/ Magic Stars

Revels

Snickers

Topic

Tracker Chocolate Chip/ Forest Fruit/ Lemon/ Roasted Nut

Twix

Products Which Are Not Suitable For Vegetarians

M &M's All Varieties

Skittles Sours/Rainbow

FAQ- What is the origin of the food colouring Carmine (E120)?

Carmine is the natural Red Colour extracted from Cocjneal insects

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...