Indian Farmers Seek Fame And Fortune Through Bhangra Beat

dalsingh101

Indian farmers seek fame and fortune through Bhangra beat

As Balbir Jagga drives a tractor around his farm in northwestern India, he dreams that the fields he tills will propel him to international music stardom.

Jagga, like thousands of other amateur singers in Punjab state, sees Bhangra music as a route out of rural life - and he is saving all his income, and even selling off a small plot of land, to make his debut music video and album.

"For years, I have been a mundane farmer, buying seeds, waiting for the rains, harvesting crops, season after season," said Jagga at his farm in Pathankot, 150 miles from Punjab's state capital Chandigarh.

"But in the evenings, I am a super Bhangra music star, recording songs for my album and planning a video shoot," he added with a smile.

Jagga, 30, is one of many Punjabi villagers trying to repeat the success of Jasbir Jassi, Mika Singh and other big names as Bhangra dance music has become a major international music trend over the last 15 years.

He has penned more than a dozen songs in Gurumuki script used to write the Punjabi language and now he hopes his music video will be the next step to stardom.

Jagga admits that he is taking a big gamble investing all his savings in the video, which will cost more than 10,000 dollars.

"You may laugh at my venture but for the people of Punjab, music is the biggest high and I am addicted to it," he said.

Bhangra originally began with Sikh farmers like Jagga singing folk songs to celebrate the arrival of the harvest season, before developing into popular music.

It spread across India via Bollywood, where actors like Amitabh Bachchan and Shah Rukh Khan have often danced to its energetic beat, and has gained popularity in many other countries where Indians have emigrated.