Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Fateh Ji.

Trying to find out bout the different types of Ras, (eg, Shaant, bir, Rudra?? <-- not sure on that one) i know there are quite a few, not sure how many in total, any where i should be looking to read further, Panna's in Granth Sahib's, books, etc etc.

Thanks in Advance.

Fateh ji.

:shock: Nutters the lot you :shock:

Link to comment
Share on other sites


gauVI ] (337-15)[/font:a716125b39]


ry mn qyro koie nhI iKMic lyie ijin Bwru ] (337-15, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

my mind, even if you carry someone's burden, they don't belong to you.

ibrK bsyro pMiK ko qYso iehu sMswru ]1] (337-16, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

This world is like the perch of the bird on the tree. ||1||

rwm rsu pIAw ry ] (337-16, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

I drink in the sublime essence of the Lord.

ijh rs ibsir gey rs Aaur ]1] rhwau ] (337-16, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

With the taste of this essence, I have forgotten all other tastes. ||1||Pause||

Aaur muey ikAw roeIAY jau Awpw iQru n rhwie ] (337-17, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

Why should we weep at the death of others, when we ourselves are not permanent?

jo aupjY so ibnis hY duKu kir rovY blwie ]2] (337-17, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

Whoever is born shall pass away; why should we cry out in grief? ||2||

jh kI aupjI qh rcI pIvq mrdn lwg ] (337-18, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

We are re-absorbed into the One from whom we came; drink in the Lord's essence, and remain attached to Him.

kih kbIr iciq cyiqAw rwm ismir bYrwg ]3]2]13]64] (337-18, gauVI, kbIr jI)[/font:a716125b39]

Says Kabeer, my consciousness is filled with thoughts of remembrance of the Lord; I have

become detached from the world. ||3||2||13||64||

Panna 337 SGGS

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Gur Fateh!

There are 9 types of ras (moods/sentiment/spirit) identified in Indian Poetry, including 'Shingaar' (eroticism/amorous sentiments); 'Hasya' (humorous/wit); 'Karuna' (compassion); 'Raudra' (anger/fury), 'Bir ras' (heroic/brave); 'Bhyanak' (terror/fear); 'Bibhatsa'; 'Adbhut' (wonder/intrigue); 'Shaant' (peace).

Hope this helps,

Gur Fateh!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...