Grihst marg

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Waheguru ji khalsa, waheguru ji ki fateh

dear sangat ji,

I am in need of your opinion and would appreciate your advise on the matter

i am a beginner abhiyasee who recently got into sikhi following depression, i get peace from gurbani and want to make it a bigger part of my life

my plan for my life was to continue naam abhiyas and keep a working life, i am not married and i live with my family

i wanted to keep it that way as it would give me plenty of time for sikhi

but my family is pressurising me to marry in the near future and i am not genuinely interested, i have told them that but they are not willing to listen. If i do marry it would be out of obligation and i am stressed about how i would practice sikhi, take care of my husband, have kids and keep a job at the same time

sangat ji, sikhi is dear to me, I don't want to lose it, can gursikh veer or bibiya address my fears

is it going against guru sahib if I don't marry?

2 hours ago, Guest Anonymous said:

dear sangat ji,

i am a beginner abhiyasee who recently got into sikhi following depression, i get peace from gurbani and want to make it a bigger part of my life

my plan for my life was to continue naam abhiyas and keep a working life, i am not married and i live with my family

but my family is pressurising me to marry in the near future and i am not genuinely interested, i have told them that but they are not willing to listen. If i do marry it would be out of obligation and i am stressed about how i would practice sikhi, take care of my husband, have kids and keep a job at the same time

sangat ji, sikhi is dear to me, I don't want to lose it, can gursikh veer or bibiya address my fears

Sikhi is part of many of the Grihasts we have here , i am not a keshdhari and come from a hindu background, and many others are are from Gursikh families here and have been married  . Grihasti is somewhere a necessary obligation in life .