Why do people cut their Hair??

Hi im new to this forum (*cough* Liar, 350+posts *cough*) and was just wondering and wanted an insight on why people cut their hair.??

i cant seem to understand the reason behind it.

is it to fit in with society?

or do you find it a hassle to have long hair??

Or if you male, do you want to look like a women??

Of if you female, are you afarid to look like a man?? (Joke. Harsh! I know)

Please help me understand this...

Thank you.

hello i am a newbie to the forum also :D

having asked people or guessing what ppl think (most people wont actually say why or give a BS excuse) it is (in order of importance)

1. being frightened to appear different/less fashionable in society

2. being frightened that you might not find a boyfriend/girlfriend so easily

3. there is a reputation of being backward/too "traditional" associated with turbans

4. not seeing a need to keep hair today (ie not know enough about sikhi and its past)

5. havent been introduced to the spiritual side of sikhi so see it as a ritual/see all religion as a ritual and would rather get drunk, pass out and wake up in a pile of their own vomit the next day

i dont think its the hassle of keeping a phug/long hair. its a lot harder to continually get haircuts, shave and wax (it seems boys and girls do all three now) then it is to tie a phug (i can do mine in under 4/5 mins now) in the morning....i think the main reason is society......if all monneh lived in a pind where everyone else was kesadhari they wouldnt be the slightly bit inclined to removing their hair

with the women looking like men thingy, i actually disagree, in kapur singhs book he says men have tried to look like women (no facial hair) and women have tried to look like men (cut their hair short) which is kinda true. no one seems content with how god created us :cry:

WJKKWJKF

hey there, i cut my hair, and i can tell you why.